Onigri with miso and okara breading, soya cotelette: stop buying commercial mix!

Vegetarian, Bento, Cuisine, Recipes, Zoé

Bento content
Onigri with miso and okara breading
Cabbage salad topped with prickles of turnip leaves and nuts
-Carrot slices
-One homemade and one bought spicy soya cotelette
-Cucumber pickled (sliced)
Corn and olive salad

I love rice. I just cannot live without. So this time I made little onigris that I dipped in some miso thick paste and breaded with okara. You know my left-overs from milk soya making. As usual, you can just replace it by breadcumbs…Bear is addicted to these onigri now…geez he’ll eat all my good rice…damn!Should hide it…
I redid some of this seasoning with turnip leaves this time and it was just as great as the one made with kohlrabi leaves.
Did you ever try soya cotelette? I like them quite a lot, and my favourite are the spicy ones.
I even bought a pack of this weird powder, where you have to add water form it in a ball and then heat them…Yes, I did…But, then, (you all know me) I had to try to do some myself! So I gave it a shot, and to be honest, I put in each bento one homemade one and one bought one so we could compare.
Result: I think that mines have a little less chewy texture in comparison to the bought ones. Bear told me I was mad, he preferred mines as they were more spicy and he thought the texture was exactly the same.
Whatever, the conclusion is that we are not buying it anymore and that I’ll make some.
You’re thinking it’ll use me up more time? No, no, it’s just as quick as taking out this pack and putting water in it. Yes, it’s blended dried okara, potato starch and some spices...here you go!

2 Responses to “Onigri with miso and okara breading, soya cotelette: stop buying commercial mix!”

  1. fossettes Says:

    great job you did with these onigiris!

  2. Onigris panés au miso et à l’okara, cotelette de soja: arrêter d’acheter les mélanges commerciaux! « Expériences culinaires dessertariennes Says:

    […] publié en anglais ici. Publié dans Bento, Céréales, Galettes, Légumes, Légumineuse, Repas, Salade, Seitan, […]


Leave a Reply

