Earth day and a quick bento

Vegetarian, Bento, Cuisine, Recipes, Zoé

Bento
Risotto topped with flax seeds and wakame
-Canned pepper bell, mum’s home-grown carrots, flat green beans, chive, parsley

Most of the time I feel like the hummingbird trying to fight an enormous forest fire with the tiny drop of water he can store in his beak, not listening to the others laughing about the nonsense of the situation, trying not to hear their “it’s useless” argumentation.
But today is different. Today is Earth day. Today, I feel that I’m not the only hummingbird in the world. That trying to consume less and differently is not just like another stone in the pond. That going for respectful environment-friendly and not-tested-on-animals products is not just another fancy of mine. That taking the time to make my own cleaning products is worth it (at least I know our sceptic tank thanks us for it), and so is my weird ideas of buying mainly seasonal, local, fair-trade and/or organic goods. That trying to avoid plastic products and having a garden is not just useless. That the money we put into having a greener and waste-free home is meaningful. That preferring to walk or use the bicycle, or accepting the annoyance of public transport to the car is worth (at least I’ll do my daily sport).
Thanks to all the hummingbirds. Have a nice Earth day.
P.S.: I naturally went for a vegan bento. It lacks of proteins but this morning I ate a lemon tofu soufflé as breakfast.

Leave a Reply

